A group photo of 2018 CFSA Scholars

2018 CFSA Scholars at the Reception

This year’s annual CFSA Scholar and Mentor Recognition reception was held on May 3, 2017 at the Chancellor’s house to celebrate SU students who applied for nationally competitive scholarships and their mentors. More than 150 guests, including scholars and their mentors, attended the event.

In his opening remarks, Chancellor Kent Syverud congratulated the CFSA scholars and thanked their faculty and staff mentors for their commitment to student excellence and for the tireless support that they provide to their mentees.

During the reception, several students shared their experiences applying for nationally competitive scholarships, the  lessons they have learned in the process, as well as the important role played by their mentors. The student speakers included:

  • Cameron MacPherson, a graduate student in PanAfrican studies who is the recipient of the Mitchell scholarship that will fund his graduate study in intercultural theology at Trinity College, Dublin.
  • Bethany Murphy, a sophomore majoring in environmental engineering and an ROTC cadet who has been awarded a NOAA Hollings Scholarship.
  • Dina Eldawy, a junior majoring in international relations, and citizenship and civic engagement and who was named a 2018 Truman scholar.
  • Danielle Schaf, a junior triple major in anthropology, forensic science and writing and rhetoric who received a Fulbright UK Summer Institute grant in 2017 and was named a 2018 Beinecke scholar.
Picture of Danielle Schaf and her mentor Prof. Shannon Novak

Prof. Novak and Danielle

Prof.  Shannon Novak, Associate Professor of Anthropology, was recognized as the 2018 CFSA Mentor of the Year. In its third year, the CFSA Mentor of the Year award is given in recognition of a faculty member who has done outstanding work supporting and mentoring students in the scholarship process. Prof. Novak  has mentored several CFSA scholars including Danielle and is a steadfast supporter of the goals and mission of CFSA.  Congratulations, Prof. Novak, and thank you for all that you do to support our students!

Susan Wadley, Professor of Anthropology and longstanding campus Fulbright Program Advisor, was also recognized and thanked for her expertise and her commitment to advising Fulbright applicants. Prof. Wadley built a foundation that has allowed SU to maintain a consistent record of producing student Fulbright recipients over the years.

Once again, we at CFSA congratulate all our scholars and thank all the mentors for their dedication and commitment to the CFSA mission!