CFSA Hosts its Annual Recognition Reception

CFSA Recognition Reception for scholarship applicants and mentors at the  Chancellor's House

CFSA 2017 Recognition Reception

CFSA hosted its annual Scholar and Mentor Recognition reception on May 4, 2017 at the Chancellor’s house to celebrate SU students who applied for nationally competitive scholarships and their faculty mentors. We were happy to see more than 100 members of the campus community at the event.

In his opening remarks, the Chancellor congratulated all CFSA students and thanked faculty mentors for their dedication and commitment to student excellence and for the support that they provide to their mentees.

During the event, several students shared their experiences applying for nationally competitive scholarships and the various lessons they have learned in the process, as well as the invaluable role that their mentors have played. The student speakers included:
• Amber Barrow, a senior majoring in neuroscience and biology who won the Critical Language Scholarship to study Chinese as a sophomore and is a recipient of a Fulbright Research grant to conduct a research project on sex education in China.
• Rachel Brown-Weinstock, a senior with majors in sociology, citizenship & civic engagement, and policy studies, who was awarded a Fulbright grant to teach English in South Africa and also won a NSF Graduate Research Fellowship to fund her doctoral studies in sociology. Rachel made the difficult decision to decline the Fulbright award in order to take the NSF grant.
• Maizy Ludden, a sophomore, majoring in biology and geography with minors in food studies and in writing and who was named a Goldwater Scholar and a Udall Scholar this year.

• Jade Rhoads, a junior majoring in Russian languages, literature, and geography with a minor in global security studies. Jade is a member of the Tuscarora Nation and a veteran of the US Marine Corps and was named a Udall Scholar this year.

CFSA mentor of the year Erika Haber

Prof. Erika Haber – CFSA 2017 Mentor of the Year

Prof. Erika Haber, Associate Professor of Russian Language, Literature, and Culture and the Russian Program Coordinator, was recognized as the 2017 CFSA Mentor of the Year. In its second year, the CFSA Mentor of the Year award is given in recognition of a faculty member who has done outstanding work supporting and mentoring students in the scholarship process. Prof. Haber is Jade’s mentor and a steadfast supporter of the goals and mission of CFSA: she served as the Boren Scholarship faculty representative this year, and works to promote the Critical Language Scholarship, Fulbright, and other scholarship opportunities. Congratulations, Prof. Haber, and thank you for all that you do to support our students!