National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Winners

Two Syracuse University students have been awarded the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowships! Ryan Milcarek, a graduate student in mechanical engineering, and Joshua Woods, a senior chemical engineering student, both received this year’s prestigious fellowship award.

Additionally, two SU students were announced as Honorable Mentions: Tyler Smith, a senior biochemistry student, and Alexis Peña, a senior bioengineering student.

The National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) supports outstanding graduate students by providing 3 years of funding for the completion of research-based MA and PhD programs in supported fields at U.S. institutions. Supported fields are STEM disciplines, but also include psychology, social sciences, and STEM education. 30 Nobel Laureates and 440 members of the National Academy of Science have been past recipients of the GRFP. The program seeks individuals that show the potential for innovation and transformation in their chosen field.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) received nearly 17,000 applications and awarded 2,000 awards. The NSF posted their winners for the 2016 application cycle online today.